The Stockholm Water Prize is the world’s most prestigious water award. Learn more about the history of the Prize, the trailblazing laureates, and how you can nominate your water heroes.

The Stockholm Water Prize is often described as the Nobel Prize of water and is characterized by a similar selection process. Since 1991, the Stockholm Water Prize has been awarded to people and organizations for extraordinary water-related achievements.

The Award

The Prize is awarded by SIWI in cooperation with the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and presented by H.M King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden, who is the official patron of the Prize.

The winner of the Stockholm Water Prize is announced every year usually in March in conjunction with World Water Day. A royal prize ceremony is held as part of World Water Week in August, where the Laureate plays an important role. In addition to the global acknowledgement and visibility, the Stockholm Water Prize Laureate receives a specially designed sculpture and 1 million SEK.

Contact us
Stockholm Water Prize secretariate

2022 Laureate

Professor Emeritus Wilfried Brutsaert is named Stockholm Water Prize Laureate 2022 for groundbreaking work to quantify environmental evaporation.

Meet the 2022 Laureate
Credit: Cornell University

Interested in supporting a water wise world?

Become a partner of the prestigious Stockholm Water Prize to help recognize outstanding contributions to the sustainable use and protection of the world’s water resources. Contact us to find out how you can engage.

Founding partners
Bacardi logo
Xylem logo
Poul Jensen Grundfos Foundation
Grundfos Foundation
Water Environment Federation logo
Water Environment Federation (WEF)
Alandsbanken logo